Inspiring People: Sarah Kay

Ok, so the 2 terrabyte external hard drive we siblings use at home is temporarily down. Which means that the Ireland posts I have piled up for you are on hold for a little while yet.  So I decided to do a few posts on people I’ve come across recently that have inspired me.

I stumbled across Sarah Kay’s speech on TED a few weeks ago, and I’ve come back to it a few times. She’s a poet who specializes in spoken word poetry, and her words are riveting.

Here’s the link to ‘If I Should Have a Daughter (“B”)’

Sarah Kay started Project V.O.I.C.E. in 2004 with a friend and here’s what they’re all about:

Project V.O.I.C.E. (Vocal Outreach Into Creative Expression) is a national movement that celebrates and inspires youth self-expression through Spoken Word Poetry.  Conceived in 2004, Project V.O.I.C.E. encourages young people to engage with the world around them and use Spoken Word Poetry as an instrument through which they can explore and better understand their culture, their society, and ultimately themselves.  Project V.O.I.C.E. brings together performance, writing, and a supportive environment to inspire youth to recognize that their views are significant, valid, and necessary.  – Project V.O.I.C.E. About page

And I think that sounds pretty stellar. Please recognize that this is modern poetry though, it’s pretty raw. So I’m not giving this out as completely right and worthy, I just think it SOUNDS great. I like the video itself for the poetry mostly. You can find more videos of her poems on her website here. She does one entitled ‘Hands’ that I looove. It’s prolly my favorite, after ‘If I Should Have a Daughter’, of course, and I especially like the part where she talks about when she was born and she looked around the hospital room ‘as if to say, “This? Psh, I’ve done this before”.’ And just her expression, the way she talks. I think my life has become more expressive because of her 🙂

Again, not all of her work is completely clean and spotless. I would particularly advise AGAINST ‘Providence’. I promise it will not edify you! Thus ends this post about Sarah Kay. Hope you were inspired!

Leave a Reply

