Inspiring People: Dr. Seuss

Yes. I like Dr. Seuss 🙂

On my latest trip to the library, I headed straight for the children’s section. I was looking for The Peace Book by Todd Parr,

and along the way, I found a few Dr. Seuss books 🙂 I got Yertle the Turtle and Other Stories,

Oh, The Thinks You Can Think!,

and Oh, The Places You’ll Go!

I like Dr. Seuss because he’s so whimsy and good-natured, but perhaps most of all, for his ability to incorporate life lessons into rhythm and rhyme complete with really neat illustrations. It seems other children’s books fade in comparison to his. Some of his books are quite pointless, like Oh, the Thinks You Can Think, but I love the ones with real names and characters like Horton Hears a Who! and Yertle the Turtle. I enjoy his writings for the rhythm, the way they rock to and fro on the epic journey of a lifetime.

Here are some of my favorite quotes:

“A person’s a person, no matter how small!”

– Horton Hears a Who!

 

“Maybe Christmas”, he thought, “doesn’t come from a store.”

“Maybe Christmas….perhaps….means a little bit more!”

-How The Grinch Stole Christmas!

 

“Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot,

nothing is going to get better. It’s not.”

-The Lorax

 

“You oughta be thankful

A whole heaping lot

For the people and places

You’re lucky you’re not.”

-Did I Ever Tell You How Lucky You Are?

 

“You’re off to great places!

Today is your day!

Your mountain is waiting.

So….get on your way!”

-Oh, the Places You’ll Go!

 

“Today you are you,

That is truer than true.

There is no one alive

Who is youer than you.”

-Happy Birthday to You

I really, really like that last one. Sometimes I’ll say it to someone, and by the time I’m halfway through, we’re both grinning, no matter what kind of problems we’d been facing before or what kind of sadness we were in the midst of. And it’s just a good way to brighten someone’s day 🙂

Hope you were inspired!

5 thoughts on “Inspiring People: Dr. Seuss

  1. sis, maybe some of this stuff could go to the “other” blog. You know, the one you’ve neglected.
    oh, and if you could get ahold of some Bill Pete books, pack ’em with you when you come. I’m dying to listen to some.
    Oh, the Places You’ll Go has surprisingly become a favorite of mine in the last 3 months. The truths he packs into that book are amazing, especially coming from a author who specialized in writing rhyming books to capture the imaginations of toddlers.

Leave a Reply

