The Paraguayan Adventure: Part I

This trip to Paraguay had just about everything I could wish for: a reunion with my brother, making good friends, beautiful sights, and relaxation. There were lots of crazy times and wild laughter, but there were some serious times as well. I’ll skip through the little stories and give you a taste of the highlights. So are you ready? Then let’s go!

The Paraguay Series will be split up into about four parts, give or take. Part 1 will be about our visit out of Paraguay and into Brazil to the Iguazu Falls, on the border of Brazil and Argentina. According to the World Waterfall Database, Iguazu Falls is the fifth largest waterfall in the world. And it is impressive. Here’s our first look:

And it just got better. Oh, way better. Here’s the second lookout:

And the third:

To be honest, I kinda got sentimental about this little particular pool. At every overlook, I looked for this one. I could maybe tell you why, but maybe I shouldn’t.

And, of course, everybody needed their picture taken with the falls. That Asian guy in the above photo? He had maybe five or seven friends, all with big cameras like Panasonic GF2’s and Canon 5D’s, all waiting their turn for their chance to get his eyes focused on their camera. Talk about paparazzi!

But we weren’t much better πŸ™‚

And…we had visitors πŸ™‚

Hola seΓ±or. Gracias por arruinar mi foto. Buen dia!

Hello, guy. Thanks for ruining this shot. Have a good day!

See that teeny boat down at the bottom of the frame? That’s like the Iguazu version of Niagra’s Maid of the Mist.

Hehe. And this is our group all looking at this Asian fellow. What are we thinking, do you think?

Again, “My Feet in Unusual Places”. This time, they’re in the Garganta Del Diablo, the Throat of the Devil.

There’s that pool again…

and even closer.

This is the final lookout, where you can buy hats and t-shirts and also go up the elevator to the top deck. From there you can catch a bus back to the visitor’s center.

And this. This was the best view, the best view by far. From the top of the final lookout:

Yessirree! Beautiful, ain’t it?

After bussing back to the visitor center and the parking lot, we claimed our vehicle and had our lunch on the road. We were in Brazil to see the falls, so we crossed back over the border. We went through the checkpoint and onto the long bridge spanning Rio Paraguay between Brazil and Paraguay. The hand rails on the Brazilian half of the bridge are painted green and white, and on the Paraguayan side, they’re painted blue and red. The border is clearly marked on the bridge. I tried to get a photo on the way to Brazil, but I missed my chance. So on the way back to Paraguay, my camera was ready and I was holding my breath. The moment I saw the border, my finger pressed the trigger even before my hand raised the camera. I shot and shot and shot, barely daring to hope….but glory! Look, I got it πŸ™‚

The traffic was pretty bad that day, but Eric knows the way by heart and he was a very successful navigator. We went shopping! πŸ™‚ That was fun. I’ll show one more photo of one of the fabric stores we visited:

That’s The End! If you have questions, shoot me an e-mail, and I will do my best to answer as soon as I can. Until next time, cheers!

Leave a Reply

