Hello Tomorrow!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A child,

Faith is like a child.

Simple in its spirit, generous and kind

Willing to accept what cannot be denied or defied.

A child,

Faith is like a child,

Innocent and trusting, even in its doubt.

Honest in its search and trying hard to find what God’s about.

A child,

Faith is like a child

Taking it for granted miracles can be*

Learning to believe in things it cannot touch or even see.

chorus

One thing – simple childlike faith and nothing more

That’s all Jesus Christ has ever asked us for –

simple childlike faith and nothing more.

Welcome to a new year! Unexperienced things are so painfully exciting — one just never knows what will happen next! “Growing is painful, but it’s good because you know that you will be stronger and taller in the end.” (as my bro Neil shared in his last devotions before leaving for his next adventure)

This year I’m excited to move forward, deeper into God’s plan for my life. But the plans I’ve made or the goals I’ve outlined fade away when I think of my ultimate, overriding purpose: to honor God and bring others to Him. It’s gonna be a good year!

My wish for you is that you will step out of your comfort zone this year. I hope your heart will be opened by love and filled up with joy. May you find time every day to be still and know that He is God. Notice the little things in nature, and really enjoy eating a meal with your family or friends. Don’t skip over the hard conversations or avoid the hard-to-love. Make new friends and hug a child at least once a week. May you find grace and courage to live the life to which He’s called you!

*I had to go by audio only for this song by the Master’s Chorale, so I’m not sure about some of the lyrics…

Leave a Reply

