A Trip to Cleveland…but mostly West Side Market

Hey guess what! I bet you all thought I’d forgotten all about this little Internet space…the truth is, I haven’t! I’m just really far behind in sharing pieces of my life with you all. But because I’m committed and all that (*snicker), I’m back with the latest installment.

Two Saturdays ago, Dad took me up to Cleveland where we explored. Yup, can you imagine that? Our first stop was West Side Market…

Image

…where we made a honey delivery at Irene’s Deli and were given some yogurt and other goodies in return. West Side Market is an experience all of itself. It resembles a train terminal, and is packed with vendors offering a variety of delectables. From fresh meat to produce, canolis to fudge, artisan bread to crepes, fresh produce to smoothies — they pretty much have it all! This is where I took the most pictures, the rest of the day was spentΒ enjoying the moment while the camera rested.

There was a balcony above the market where there was a bench. There, we rested; and there, I took this shot:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Canolis! I came home raving about these little dreams! If you have a recipe for them or happen to make them yourself, please leave me some tips and tricks πŸ™‚

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Benja…you would love this.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The next stop was Whole Foods where Dad made another delivery, and we checked out the competition, but decided we still like our honey the best πŸ™‚ That’s ours, down there on the bottom shelf…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And then we drove back to the west side of town to Legacy Village, where we bought some cheesecake from, you guessed it, the Cheesecake Factory.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Best. Cheesecake. EVER! Mango Key Lime…and even Dad liked it!

IMG_0109

After that we found a 10,000 Villages and shopped around. Made chit-chat with the very friendly clerk. It got a little creepy when she knew about Walnut Creek Cheese (where I work) and Tonn’s Honey and all kinds of other things we didn’t mean to share with her…

Our last stop was a short one — we stopped beside the Lake (Erie, that is), for a quick shot. That’s my dad right there. He’s been there for me every day of my life, and although he’d be the first to admit his failings, I think he’s the best daddy a girl could ever have. I love you, Dad.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And such concludes that trip! Have a wonderful day and make every moment count.

Editor’s note: My apologies to all those of you who were prematurely notified by email of this post. And thanks for sticking with me on this one — this is the second time I’m updating…

5 thoughts on “A Trip to Cleveland…but mostly West Side Market

  1. I love this post! It’s my city. πŸ™‚ I’ve not been to the West Side Market yet but I plan to go yet sometime this winter. Seeing your pictures makes me want to go sooner. πŸ™‚
    Legacy Village is often where we go to eat out. There’s an amazing little Vietnamese restaurant called Gia La, Stir Crazy and of course the Cheesecake Factory. Also Crate & Barrel (I don’t buy anything just browse) and Francesca’s. Legacy is 15 minutes from my house btw.
    And the Lake. πŸ™‚ It’s not the most beautiful lake but it’s “our” lake.
    Great post.

Leave a Reply

