The Doughty Diner

Editor’s note: The purpose of this post in not to inspire you to awe or marvel at my camera touch. This unfortunate post’s purpose is to help improve my story-telling skills. So please bear with me while you scroll through these photos, since they were published more for my benefit than yours. I’m learning, that’s all I can say. These are definitely a start, albeit not a good one. You’ve been warned; therefore proceed with caution!

One evening our wonderful youth counselors planned a beautiful evening for us as a youth group. All our parents were invited, and some were helping out in the kitchen. The visual display they created for us was a feast for the eyes, but it was no match to the mouth-watering food they dished up! The deco theme was very diner-ish, so naturally the fare matched the surroundings. Delectable burgers, hot french fries, sodas (<–such a more fitting word than ‘pop’, no?), and refreshing milkshakes accompanied by brownies filled our bellies quite to the brim.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Look! It’s my brother Neil! Yup yup, he was home that weekend.

doughtydiner3

doughtydiner1

Krystal was curious (as was I) that Mennos actually recorded on real records! To us, looking back with a closed perspective, it seems nearly scandalous that such a thing would occur; but we forget that back then, it was perfectly in order. After all, can someone tell me the year when tapes were invented?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

doughtydiner10

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mom beckoned for me to come behind the scenes a bit – and I’m so glad I did!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

doughtydiner12

Then our parents even sang for us!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s to better storytellingthroughphotos. Now I’m off to work harder!

Leave a Reply

