OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA replanted_fern2 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Two years ago, as I was cleaning the living room, I picked up the potted fern off the bench to dust underneath it. In my haste, two branches with a few root tendrils were torn from the plant. They looked very artistic in a glass bottle, so I added water and left them to grow. A few weeks later, I was pleasantly surprised to see a larger root system! Pretty soon I planted the little ‘accident’ into an empty coffee can.

Fast forward to now, and take a look at that little fern now! As I replanted it into a larger, roomier, new home, I was inspired. And reminded me of a lesson that has been the hardest yet for me. Actually, I’m in the middle of learning it right now, today.

Here’s the thing: I know God has a grand purpose for my life. I feel Him working in my life, teaching me skills, and helping me excercise the gifts He’s given me. I catch glimpses of my future, and I’m excited when I think about what could happen in the next five years! But I get frustrated when the doors I knock on don’t open to me. That is where this lesson comes in: to bloom where I’ve been planted. To simply make myself useful NOW in His Kingdom. Because I know, one day, my King will turn to me, take my upturned and outstretched hands, and lead me to another field to work.

It takes daily surrender. As Elizabeth Elliot so eloquently puts it:

I do know that waiting on God requires the willingness to bear uncertainty, to carry within oneself the unanswered question, lifting the heart to God about it whenever it intrudes upon one’s thoughts.

Growing pains are not pleasant. But I know that when my dreams are given to my Master, they can be used in the best possible way.

The Lesson of the Replanted Fern

Leave a Reply

