The Wild Colors of Fall and the Pressures of Good-Byes

Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have:

for He hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.

1 Thessalonians 13.5

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You ask me how life is treating me?

Well, if you were to ask me, I’d say life has felt a bit overwhelming. Not too much though. Just enough to make me realize that I really CANNOT do this life on my own strength. I need God first of all to show me the next step, and people close beside me to ensure everyone’s safety. Ha.

Next week several things will happen. A dear youth sister will leave us for the land of Kenya. And an older brother’s dreams and plans will culminate in a happy, beautiful celebration Saturday as he takes a beautiful girl to be his wife. These people have become so precious to me in the past few years. They have been my mentors, and have been with me through many questions. To them I owe more than I could ever repay. Though the good-byes will be hard, comfort comes from remembering they will do so much more good to the world released from our clutches. I’ve been watching the beautiful growth of their wings and the call God has laid to their hearts; now it is time to smile through the tears as I watch the butterflies fly off into the sunshine.

I’ll close with a prayer by Steven James that hits close to home:

 

Master,

I’ve noticed that I have dark

undertows of regret and shame

running through my life.

 

Sure,

most of the time I’m able to keep them hidden

far beneath the surface

where my friends

aren’t expert enough to swim.

But sometimes the currents rise

and unsettle

me.

 

Unless I get caught I rarely change direction.

Redirect me now,

while the waves are still visible,

before I become afraid again.

2 thoughts on “The Wild Colors of Fall and the Pressures of Good-Byes

  1. Thanks for this post. It was a reminder to me to surrender all to God and let go, even when it seems impossible. It’s hard to do – but sometimes it’s the only choice. ❤

Leave a Reply

