Thoughts From the First Three Days of Bible School

“I don’t know, I don’t want to talk as much. (…) It’s nicer to think dear, pretty thoughts and keep them in one’s heart, like treasures. I don’t like to have them laughed at or wondered over.”
― L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

To the readers of this blog, you may be aware that the owner/author of this blog is currently isolated against instant technology. And yet, to supply you with insights to her life, she has resorted to me as her medium for posting her thoughts during her initial exposure to the scholastics offered by Calvary Bible School. A word about thoughts…Diane could have kept them to herself and her own private journal but in writing her thoughts, she risks. As the initial quote implies, it’s safer to keep thoughts to ourselves and not expose them to the world. But enough of my ramblings. Here is she.
EJ

Monday, February 17, 2014: It was as fun as I expected to unpack all my bags and get settled into my dorm here at CBS. I chose the bottom bunk, so I have a little cozy corner to sleep. It feels very much like home, with pictures and things from home I brought sitting on the headboard. My dormies are great, and we’ve been having a jolly good time getting to know each other.

Tuesday, February 18, 2014: Two days into it, and everything has been a tease. I am ready to get into the harness! Everything so far has been introduction after introduction, boggling orientation, and name tags and explanations out the wazoo. I know I’ll look back at these words with wistfulness maybe, but for now I am ready for assignments.

Today was the first full day of classes at CBS and it didn’t feel like a real class day. Every teacher is passing out their syllabi, the textbooks are distributed, and they all employ their own unique twist on introductions. “Tell us your name, where you’re from, and what you’d like to get from this class”, is the usual line. I’ve chosen some pretty amazing classes though, and I’m excited to squeeze everything out of this experience as I can.

Wednesday, February 19, 2014: I am taking three classes, and my free period is the first one of the day. I am planning to audit an evangelism class as much as I can, but this morning I skipped it in favor of some assigned reading for my Worldviews class. I’m finally, finally starting to feel the weight of the next six weeks here. I’m reading, journaling, and searching more deeply than what I was last week at home, and that’s exactly what I was looking forward to. I will now give you a bit of a recap of my classes.

1 & 2 Peter: In this class, so far we’ve discussed the man Peter and the background of his epistles. As our homework assignment today, our teacher, Brad Nisly, asked us to write about our own weaknesses and how God can change those into things that glorify Him.

Advanced Rudiments of Music: Wendell Glick is our very capable teacher in this class, but of all my classes, this one scares me the most. I enjoy Choir under him, but in this class, we are moving along very fast, and I can only hope and pray I’ll be able to stay afloat. Although this has dampened my excitement a little, I can say my courage is still up.

Christian Worldviews and Ethics: So far, this is my deepest class! Today we got into some discussion about the definitions of good and evil and also about how we form our worldviews. The book we are reading is called The Universe Next Door, by James W. Sire, and it extensively explains the different worldviews that surround us. The chapter we discussed today was about Christianity, and it was a very encouraging chapter for me. This morning I read it with my dormie, and we both had such a good time exclaiming how amazing our God is through reading the chapter!

I’ll conclude with a random thought that came to me through my Peter class:

All of life is a gift, not a test which to fail or pass; yet there are certain responsibilities we have to catch the truths God wants to display for our understanding, enjoyment, and our own personal character development. Therefore, I need to be aware of my weaknesses and seek opportunities to improve.

Leave a Reply

