Lately I’ve Been | July 13, 2015

The problem with blogging is that if you aren’t careful, it can lead you into the trap of thinking you’ve got it all together. It also easily gives that impression to your readers. And once you’ve bought into that lie yourself, laziness enters into your journey. And we all know how deadly laziness is.

But the struggle is the same for all of us: every day we must die. And that fact does not change when you leave the foreign mission field, or when you change your job. And we have to share the struggle with those involved in our lives or else we lose valuable input and correction. So, here I am, trying to get back into that groove.

Lately I’ve Been…

Reading: Bittersweet, by Shauna Niequist. Also the book of Isaiah.

Challenged by: my friends’ ability to dream big without any restraints.

Laughing over and over at: memories of that ‘competitive’ two hour long game of Uno yesterday, where the longest pause between laughter was about seven seconds. My ribs hurt so bad today!

Selling: a brand new honey product. Coming to shelves soon! *rubs hands together

Excited about: my brand new niece. I hold her every single chance I get. Also, winning a volleyball tournament for the first time, while hanging out with some of my favorite people in the world at the 3rd term reunion last weekend.

Listening to: the brand spankin’ new Hope Singers CD, Eternal God. It has the best tones, pronunciations, and crisp timings I’ve heard in a long time.

Trying not to be stressed about: the usual – the future. Next year’s decisions are creeping on the fringes of my peace.

Making: life decisions. Aah!

and a new one!

Learning about: God’s ability to provide for every single need I have. Psalm 23 has so much truth packed into the first nine words.

I’ve also celebrated my birthday since my last blog post.

IMG_1526_blog

IMG_1732_blog

My coworkers helped me celebrate by going out to eat at Melt Bar and Grilled in Cleveland.

IMG_1748_blog

And two of my besties helped me celebrate by making homemade ice cream one Sunday afternoon.

IMG_1770_blog

IMG_1776_blog

IMG_1779_blog

IMG_1783_blog

IMG_1881_blog

Also since I’ve blogged last, Club has started again.

6 thoughts on “Lately I’ve Been | July 13, 2015

  1. Hey Diane, God bless you as you learn to trust Him for each step of your life! Today I was also thinking of that great game of uno and the medicine of the laughter…and I’m sore and even a bit bruised too! 🙂 Winning the v-ball tournament definitely was a highlight too!!

  2. Oh Diane, that last picture just made me laugh. It portrays it perfectly! (I only wish you could’ve been on it too). Yay for next week when we get to do this again and catch up on whats been happening in each others lives.:)

  3. You still are too kind with your comments about the Eternal God CD. 🙂 And isn’t the Melt Bar one of the greatest, most unique takes on restaurant food?? Provided I’m thinking of the same place that you went to. We def need to go there sometime in the near future.

Leave a Reply

