The Shenandoah Valley

In June, I spent a week in the Shenandoah Valley in Virginia. I was attending Shenandoah Christian Music Camp, and having the time of my life, but when I wasn’t in classes or practicing music, I was driving to and from Camp, enjoying the gorgeous scenery all around me. The rich farmland and historical heritage of the area combined with the everlasting hills on every side add up to a sumptuous feast for the eyes.

My sweet host, Martha, recommended this spot to me when I asked about the countryside. “If you’re willing to take some dirt roads, then you’d like this little bridge over a Muddy Creek on Onyx Hill Road.” After giving me verbal directions, she entrusted me with a big map of the area, and I climbed into my car with two of my sweet housemates to go explore the country.

Most of the following photos were taken that afternoon, with Rebecca and Renita (my housemates) very graciously and patiently putting up with my frequent stops, and choosing our directions at Stop signs. “Where now?” I’d ask. “Um, left,” they’d say, picking the most favorable direction based purely on how it felt to us in our hearts.

Enjoy the following photographs!

IMG_2042

IMG_2043

IMG_2045

IMG_2044IMG_2046IMG_2049

IMG_2053

IMG_2057IMG_2066

IMG_2059 IMG_2065 IMG_2061

IMG_2095 IMG_2103 IMG_2104 IMG_2107 IMG_2076

IMG_2077_stitch

Leave a Reply

