Days of Autumn, Pt. 2

A few weekends ago, my brother Eric and I traveled to Mifflinburg, PA, to sing at a friend’s wedding with some of the ensemble he had organized last year while teaching there. I joined him on the trip because he needed another soprano at the wedding, not necessarily because I knew lots of people there, so I was pleasantly surprised to reconnect with some great friends. That was fun 🙂

Here are some iPhone photos from the road.

'The hills are aflame...'

‘The hills are aflame…’

Driving through the Bald Eagle State Forest, which has amazed me twice with its seasonal beauty.

We drove through the Bald Eagle State Forest, which has amazed me twice now with its seasonal beauty. The other time was a solo trip in the middle of February during a snowstorm. Had my parents known about the terrible conditions, they would have been a lot more nervous! But, I was very aware of my surroundings, and still think back with happy memories.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Beauty Whizzing By.

Abstract journeying stories.

Abstract journeying stories.

The gems of the Eastern Pennsylvania mountains.

The gems of the Eastern Pennsylvania mountains.

We had spare time in the afternoon after the wedding, so a group of Eric’s former co-teachers from last year went on a hike, and invited me to join them. We hiked up a hill through the woods, through a clearing, and back into the woods, before we came upon the end of the trail at an outlook with a chain-link fence ensuring our safety.

Through the field...

Through the clearing…

I don't think I've ever been this close to one of these before.

I don’t think I’ve ever been this close to one of these massive electrical structures before!

A giantess dress form.

My friend Sharon calls them ‘giantess dress forms.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Then we walked down the road to a cemetery and rested. If you look really closely on that mountainside, you can see a bald spot. That was the overlook.

The view outside the fence was amazing.

The view outside the fence was amazing.

Then we found a precipice to stand on. Y'know, the view was better.

Then we found a precipice to stand on. Y’know, the view was better.

A 'bunch' of happiness.

A ‘bunch’ of happiness.

Then we crossed a creek on a suspension bridge.

Then we crossed a creek on a suspension bridge.

I was so used to picking wildflowers that day, that at the end of the hike, when we got back to our cars, I didn't think twice about crossing the road to pick this one. Except there was a house really close by, and I realized my foolishness right away. Oops.

I was so used to picking wildflowers that day, that at the end of the hike, when we got back to our cars, I didn’t think twice about crossing the road to pick this one. Except there was a house really close by, and I realized my foolishness right away. Oops.

A beautiful Mifflinburg sunset.

A beautiful Mifflinburg sunset.

And then the day ended and soon we were on our way home again, through those lovely mountains.

Leave a Reply

